John Zorn :  Lacrosse
Cat. # 73161-2
Released Jan 2000
cd 1 time - 72:00
cd 2 time - 29:58
US Price $26.00
Dating from 1977 Lacrosse contains the first recordings of Zorn’s infamous game pieces. Featuring two all-star groups including guitarists Eugene Chadbourne, Henry Kaiser and Davey Williams, the music here sets the tone for much of what was to come—sharp contrasts, block changes, unusual juxtapositions, instrumental virtuosity and a personal approach to composition, improvisation, sound, silence and color. Previously available in the lavish 7-CD box set The Parachute Years, these seminal recordings are now made available in separate issue.

The complete sessions on two CDs, including a rare alternative version, outtakes, photos, the original and new liner notes and more. Multiple versions of the same piece highlight the versatility of Zorn’s approach to composing for improvisers. These are the recordings that prompted the critics to ask "Just what is John Zorn’s Theatre of Musical Optics and why is it pertinent to these discs?"

** Heavy item that requires additional shipping charges for non-U.S. destinations

Mark Abbott: Electronics
Bruce Ackley: Soprano Saxophone
Polly Bradfield: Violin, Viola, Electric Violin
Eugene Chadbourne: Guitars, Dobro, Tiple
Henry Kaiser: Guitar
LaDonna Smith: Violin, Viola
Davey Williams: Banjo, Guitar
John Zorn: Alto Saxophone