John Zorn :  Filmworks VII: Cynical Hysterie Hour
Cat. # 7315
Released 1997
cd time - 25:20
US Price $16.00
The holy grail of Zornthologists is finally available in a newly remastered definitive edition.

Released in Japan for only a few short months in 1990, this is the original music Zorn created for a series of four shorts by one of Japan's most endearing cartoonists: Kiriko Kubo.

A long time champion of Warner Bros. cartoon composer Carl Stalling, Zorn considers this to be his finest and most personal take on cartoon music to date, a genre that has influenced him deeply. The all-star band includes Bill Frisell, Marc Ribot, Arto Lindsay, Robert Quine, Wayne Horvitz, Bobby Previte and Cyro Baptista.
John Zorn: Arranger, Composer
Cyro Baptista: Brazilian Percussion
Kermit Driscoll: Acoustic And Electric Bass
Carol Emanuel: Harp
Bill Frisell: Banjo, Electric Guitar
David Hofstra: Acoustic And Electric Bass
Wayne Horvitz: Keyboards
Jill Jaffe: Viola, Violin
Kiriko Kubo: Vocal
Arto Lindsay: Electric Guitar
Christian Marclay: Turntables
Ikue Mori: Drum Machine
Maxine Neuman: Cello
Bobby Previte: Percussion, Drums
Robert Quine: Electric Guitar
Marc Ribot: Banjo, Electric Guitar
Peter Scherer: Keyboards